The Abandoned Sterrick Building, Memphis

The Abandoned Sterrick Building, Memphis

Grand beauty in decline is one thing, seeing something of the scale of the Sterrick Building left to rot is another.

Once called the “Queen of Memphis” and described as “the most complex, the most fabulous building in Memphis,” this elaborately designed piece of architecture opened in 1930 as the tallest building in the South.

The 350,883-sq.-ft. Gothic-style office tower stands 365 ft. in height. To this day it remains Memphis’s fifth-tallest structure.

The Abandoned Sterrick Building, Memphis 4

The building originally featured a white stone spire topped with a green tile roof, with the Regency Room restaurant residing on its top floor.

The first three floors are made from granite and limestone and once held a bank, pharmacy, barber shop and beauty parlor and stockbrokers’ offices.

Its lobby was said to “rival the beauty of a Moorish castle,” and boasted eight high-speed elevators that carried the building’s more than 2,000 workers and guests each day.

The Abandoned Sterrick Building, Memphis 1 The Abandoned Sterrick Building, Memphis 2 The Abandoned Sterrick Building, Memphis 3

The unfortunate decline began in the 1960s. Despite the fact the building was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1978, by the mid-1980s it was vacant. Then the decay really began to set in.

For the last 30 years it has stood empty. In 2016 the hallways of this once grand and vibrant building remain devoid of people. A situation that sets to continue for a long time yet.

The Abandoned Sterrick Building, Memphis 5 The Abandoned Sterrick Building, Memphis 6The Abandoned Sterrick Building, Memphis 8

(Image Credits: Inside Memphis Business, Wikiwand, Daily Mail, Photobucket, Flickr)

You May Also Like